Going concerned.

October 5, 2010 § Leave a comment

Still reading Shaping Things and have been trying to get my head around cognitive loads and opportunity costs. Cognitive load is the brainpower we expend when engaging in, or with the objects of technoculture. Opportunity cost is the sacrifice of another part or activity in life we make to be a part of this culture. I have a theory: I read for leisure less than I used to. Before the arrival of my laptop and Nintendo Dsi I used to always read before bed, now I watch something online or play games. I still read but it takes me a lot longer to get through a book than it used to. Opportunity cost! And, instead of engaging in the act of reading, which I have spent practically my whole life doing, I am dabbling (paddling)  in sea of technology, most of which I only understand at interface value (I am recent stylus user). Cognitive load.  I have also heard that staring at screens right before going to bed can thwart your ability to sleep. straying from the point a little, but I’m fairly sold on the idea of sleeping in a Faraday mosquito net – http://www.lessemf.com/personal.html whether or not it actually does anything beneficial, it couldn’t hurt right?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Going concerned. at My hairdryer has a radio in it.

meta

