Masters by unconcious thesis and semi-automatic writing.

October 13, 2010 § Leave a comment

I am now reading the chapter of Design your Life entitled The Art of Procrastination, and yes, it does include blogging as procrastination. hmm. Very post modern. Anyway, the author discusses lists, what we do with our notes, thoughts, “occasional bolts of joy or genius”. She discusses the many ways people capture this data in the moment. About a week before I finished my Masters thesis, I wrote about a thousand words in my cellphone. All in the dead of the night, half unconcious. I would routinely wake up in the wee hours strongly believing I had found some amazing insight or perfectly worded phrase that would tie my argument together and transform my research. These moments of genius were always total crap, mostly just strings of buzz words and absurd connections, it wasn’t even funny, just indicative of the lame dreams I was having at the time (history of the term ‘melancholy’. woop). Ideas you have at three in the morning are not good ideas.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Masters by unconcious thesis and semi-automatic writing. at My hairdryer has a radio in it.

meta

